Takamine Forum

It is currently Mon Aug 02, 2021 3:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Is it on the Club or the Group to bring the crowd?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:50 am 

Looking for comments and feedback on this question. I have been playing semi-professionally for about 35 years or so. I am 50 now. Playing live music has always supplemented my income. For a period in the 90s, I actually made a great living playing music for a living. Flirted with greatness, almost got called up to the bigs, whatever.
Last night I had a show at a place I play a couple times a month usually on the 50 cent wing night. Not a big crowd but about twenty people who were totally into the music, singing and clapping along and buying a ton of alcohol. Good right? At the end of set, the manager comes up to pay me and says. "Pretty slow night. You should do something to bring more people in" Are you kidding me? I tried to keep my cool but instead I say something along the lines of this. I always advertise on Facebook, Instagram and else where. Maybe you shouldn't be playing Beyonce' and Timberlake tonight. Maybe Buffett and Dave Matthews would be a little more appropriate? Maybe you could have the stage cleared of tables, chairs and bicycles by the time the boys and I show up? Maybe your staff could hustle a bit when I see a guy waiting 20 minutes for a waitress when he only has a gulp of beer left in his mug? You don't want me to bring sound gear, maybe you could make sure yours was decent? That's when I started coiling up cables and what not. He wandered off.
Ya know, not tooting my own horn, but after thousands of gigs in various Sh*th*les around the world, I know what I am doing. Does anyone else have any experience in dealing with clueless clubs or bars that want live music? I know it sounds like a rant but Jeez? Tell me some stories people.

Post subject: Re: Is it on the Club or the Group to bring the crowd?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:16 am